Consultations on free trade discussions with remaining members of TPP

The Government of Canada is seeking the views of the Canadian public and interested Canadian stakeholders on a potential free trade agreement (FTA) with the remaining countries of what was the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam.

The TPP was an initiative originally concluded on October 5, 2015, by 12 Asia-Pacific countries (the above 10 plus Canada and the United States) and signed on February 4, 2016, by all members. On January 30, 2017, the United States officially announced that it was withdrawing from the agreement. Following this decision, the remaining TPP signatories have expressed interest in identifying the best way in which an optimized agreement can move forward.

The remaining countries are commercially significant for Canadian exporters and investors. Total merchandise trade among these countries reached US$404 billion in 2015. Together, the 11 countries, including Canada, represent 494 million people, with a combined GDP of US$10.2 trillion, or 13.6% of global GDP.

Interested parties are invited to submit their views on an agreement with the remaining countries by October 30, 2017.

Link: Consultations on Canada’s discussions with the remaining members of what was previously the Trans-Pacific Partnership

< Return